Dr. Chris Waters

RARE Science
President, CEO & Founder
Dr. Chris Waters

Identity in the DNA Economy
Tuesday, April 7th, Room Three (123)

Dr. Christina Waters has been responsible for leading precision medicine research and development in a broad range of organizations ranging from academia and disease – focused non-profits to biotech and large pharmaceutical companies. Her broad range of experience in discovery and clinical research with business strategies enable development of innovative approaches to personalized medicine and health, partnerships and implementation of new innovative research initiatives that can accelerate treatments to patients world-wide.

As SVP/GM of WuXi NextCODE’s Global Rare Disease Program, she leads strategic planning of the rare global genomics programs to accelerated diagnosis and seed new therapeutic discovery program through Life Science Industry, clinician, researcher and patient partnership. In addition, she is CEO/ Founder of RARE Science, a non-profit research organization which accelerates identifying therapeutic solutions for kids with rare disease. She serves as a Scientific Advisory board member for Global Genes, and consultant serving patients, researchers, clinicians and the life science industry across the healthcare continuum. She serves on the World Economic Forum 4rth Revolution steering committee and Breaking Barriers to Health Data Project. She is a proud member of the International Rare Diseases Research Consortium (IRDiRC) which unites national and international governmental and non-profit funding bodies, companies, patient organizations, and researchers to advance rare diseases research worldwide.

Dr. Waters received her Ph.D. in Genetics from the UC Davis as a NIH Biotechnology Fellow. She was a Postdoctoral Scholar and Associate of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in the Division of Biology, CalTech and a NIH Postdoctoral Fellow at UC Berkeley. Her MBA was received from University of California, Los Angeles. She was awarded the distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Sciences in 2010.